California weekend news reports that a Riverside man has died following a jet-ski accident on Big Bear Lake. According to Big Bear News, the boating accident occurred after two men were seen riding the Jet Ski near the northern shoreline of the lake, when one of the men slipped under the water. Neither of the men was wearing a personal flotation device as required by California boating law.
An initial search of the lake on Friday afternoon was unsuccessful due to poor visibility. However, a dive team and helicopter were brought in to assist with the recovery efforts on Saturday morning and the body was discovered. A spokesperson for the lake Water District noted that the tragic accident could have been avoided had the man been wearing a “personal flotation device” or PFD.
Unfortunately, boating accidents and jet-ski accidents have been in the news far too often recently. This past weekend the stepson of Usher also died following complications from a jet-ski accident. What starts out as a day of fun can take a tragic turn far too quickly – even if safety precautions are followed. If you or a loved one has been in a boating accident, it’s a good idea to seek the advice of a Sacramento boating attorney right away.
To protect yourself from serious personal injuries while boating, remember a few basic boating tips.
First, boating requirement depend vary based on the size and type of boat, and the number of people on board. For more specific details, consult California boating laws. However, generally all boats must be equipped with a type B fire extinguisher, flares, a whistle or horn and all passengers must wear properly fitted “pfd’s.”
If you are riding a jet ski, a few additional rules apply:
- Every person on board a personal watercraft must wear a U.S. Coast Guard-approved life jacket.
- If the personal watercraft has a lanyard cutoff switch, the operator must attach the lanyard to his or her person.
- Personal watercraft may not be operated between sunset and sunrise.
Further, as with other vessels, people under age 16 may not operate a personal watercraft that has more that 15 horsepower unless they are 12 to 15 years old AND supervised on board by an adult.
In the event you are involved in a boating accident, California law provides that you must file a written report with the Department of Boating and Waterways (DBW) under certain circumstances including when a person dies, disappears, or is injured and requires medical treatment beyond first aid. A report must also be filed when the amount of damage to the vessel or other property is more than $500 or there is complete loss of a vessel.
Despite these safety precautions, boating and other personal watercraft accidents still occur – leading to personal injuries ranging from mild cuts and bruises to serious life threatening head and neck injuries, even death.
For more information or if you or your family has been involved in a boating accident, contact the top California boat accident lawyer and personal injury lawyer at Sette Law Office for an immediate consultation.